Cancer Sucks!?

My mother in law passed away from Cancer I have wanted to write something but words seem to escape me all the time. I was blessed to be able to spend lots of time with LaRae during the last year because Roxie has been going to Mrs. Lyons Preschool in Mesa right down the street from My wonderful In law. During that time LaRae taught me to laugh during the hard times and only once did I ever see her cry during her struggle with cancer and it was the day she told me she didn’t want to lose her hair during to Chemo. I huge her and cried too but we soon were laugh when she asked me if I would shave her head when the time came. I told I would be honored. However when the time came I looked at her almost crying telling her I had never cut or shaved anyone heads before. LaRae thought about it and decided it would be better for a professional and I agreed. After all I cut my fingers with dull scissors.
My mother in law taught me unconditional love even after I threw up on when I was nine months pregnant she still loved me. We talked, we walked, she loved my kids, she loved her family and she always encouraged me to sing and play the piano even when I wasn’t sure I could do it. She told me she loved me all the time and how proud she was of her son Doug and all he accomplished. She taught me how to make homemade Christmas Marshmallows, sew a dress and how to take apart the same dress I had messed up on, how to bind a quilt and how to sever those around me.
I will forever be grateful to her for raising an amazing son who will carry on her tradition of love,service and laughter.
I will miss going to Tucson, Women’s Conference, our talks on the couch on Sunday, playing in the pool with the kids and her endless service to those she loved. I love you mom and will miss you!

 

Leave a Reply

