Review HotShot

Book Review – HotShot – Julie Garwood

16101020
Title: HotShot
Stars: 5 out of 5 I got this at my online library
Review:
I have never read Julie Garwood but I saw this book show up as a suggestion on my Library account so I thought sure why not it sounded interesting enough.
Peyton Lockhart graduated from a prestigious French Culinary school and got her dream job as a food critic but quickly finds out her dream job might not be what she wanted it to be. She quickly moves back home and runs into her childhood crush Finn MacBain at his brother’s wedding.
Seeing Finn again brings back that crush she once had on him and with 8 years different in age she figures he will never really notice her. He does notice the bullet holes in her car.
Than her Uncle offers her and her two sisters a chance to run his oceanfront resort but the catch is they need to be able to show a profit in one year to be able to keep the place?
Peyton finds life isn’t always what you plan it to be and sometimes you have to roll with the punches.
This was my first Julie Garwood book and boy she is into background details making sure the readers is invested into every characters she writes. Which I have a love hate relationship with because I would find myself lost in the details she created about each character.  However I love it because you never need to guess why someone is doing something.
Payton is a fun, sarcastic character that the reader cannot help but love and root for from the beginning to end of the book. Finn MacBain is your typical alpha male character with time entertaining moments but Payton steals the book.  The dialog in the book is fun quick and will keep the readers reading along with some sexy scenes as well.
I loved that Julie Garwood created secondary characters and flushed them out making them integrated into the story. I was excited that they didn’t bog down the story but kept it going and I found myself wanting to know happened to them.
The Villains are nasty and dark but Julie Garwood offset the darker parts of the book with real housewives moments/ characters that will drive the reader to laugh or crazy.
I really enjoyed the book and plan to read more from Julie Garwood in the future.
Leave a Reply

