Reviewing A book on Eating Disorder

A few days ago I received a book in the mail about a woman’s struggle with her eating disorder. I was excited I wanted to hear her story and see how she was able to cope with her eating disorder.

As I read I realized the book pitched to me and the book I received were completely different.  The more I read the more I wanted to rewrite the book. It wasn’t the grammar or spelling errors that wanted me fix the story it was the fact the story pitched to me was the one I wanted to read. Not the book I received.

I found myself almost getting angry because I found nothing helpful in the book and as I finished the woman’s story I started to write a three start review. Very negative review.

I sat down and talked with my husband who opened my eyes to the fact I needed to reread the book for what it is one persons story of an eating disorder and not the story pitched to me.  I did as he suggested. I still didn’t like the book. However I realized I do not have the courage it would take to write down my own personal experiences let alone asking people to read and review it.

So instead of reviewing I will be asking for an interview I will post on Book him Danno. I am too close to the topic.

Everyone finds management in different way and I think hers is writing this book. No one will ever overcome an eating disorder but we are able to manage it better. She talked about seeing disappointment in her brothers eyes, drinking and abusing her medication to help her cope with the mental pain.

I wish we could have read her mothers thoughts because I want to know what it is like from the other side. Because I know what it is like to be overcome and living day in and out with an eating disorder but I have no idea what it does to those I love.  My husband has always been honest but my extended family has never said anything.

Since I read the book I did a little of my own research and here are a few things I found.

Eating disorders commonly co-occur with anxiety disorders. For those who have an anxiety disorder, a co-occurring eating disorder may make their symptoms worse and recovery more difficult. It’s essential to be treated for both disorders.

Anorexia has the highest fatality rate of any mental illness.

                  .9% of women will struggle with anorexia in their lifetime

                  The person restricts their food intake into unhealty levels. They do not need to be stick thin.

It is estimated that up to 4% of females in the United States will have bulimia during their lifetime

                 3.9% of these bulimic individuals will die

 

A 2004 study found that two-thirds of people with eating disorders suffer from an anxiety disorder at some point in their lives and that around 42 percent had developed an anxiety disorder during childhood, well before the onset of their eating disorder. Other studies also confirm that an anxiety disorder usually the onset of an eating disorder, but panic disorder often follows.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27825715-finding-faith-in-the-battle?from_new_nav=true&ac=1&from_search=true

If you are interested in the book here is the goodreads like as well as the amazon link.

 

http://www.amazon.com/Finding-Faith-Battle-Alysia-Keller-ebook/dp/B017UPS0WC

 

 

Leave a Reply

